Glimpses of my Heart

Just another WordPress.com site

When did caring for orphans become an option? February 13, 2012

Filed under: caring for the orphans,My Journey with Jesus — oldfashionedatheart @ 7:33 pm

When did caring for orphans become an option? When did our hearts get so hardened? Where is Christ-like compassion?

My heart is grieved today. Grieved by Christians who claim the name of Jesus but do not feel a responsibility to do what HE said in regards to the poor & orphaned. I have heard people who claim the name of Christ give this reason for not doing something to help orphans: “I just don’t feel burdened about it.” or “That’s not something Jesus has put on my heart to do.”
Wait a minute… if I said as a follower of Christ: “I don’t feel burdened to love my neighbor, I don’t feel burdened to forgive.” Would that fly? NO! Why not? Because everyone knows it goes against the commands of Jesus. But somehow “Christian” people have come to put the ministry of caring for the poor & orphaned in a category as something that is an option NOT a command. Loving the poor, the widowed, the orphaned isn’t about feelings – it’s about obeying. HE commands it in scripture.

It is not a debate of whether HE wants us to do something. The question is simply WHAT does HE want us to do about it! We must act. We must obey. As you are acting in obedience ask HIS forgiveness that you don’t have a heart for what HE does. Ask Him to change your heart. Do not wait to obey until feelings come.

There are others on the other hand who say “Oh, I have a burden for them too.” Yet, they sit by and do nothing! If we don’t really care for those who are hurting enough to move then there is something deeply wrong with our Christianity.

James 1:27, “Religion that God our Father accepts as pure and faultless is this: to look after orphans and widows in their distress.”

Exodus 22:22, “You shall not afflict any widow or orphan.”

Isaiah 1:17, “Learn to do good; seek justice, reprove the ruthless, Defend the orphan, plead for the widow.”

Isaiah 1:23, “Your rulers are rebellious, and companions of thieves; everyone loves bribes, and follows after rewards. They do not defend the fatherless.”

Matthew 18:5, “Whoever receives a child in My name, receives Me.”

Luke 6:38, “give, and it will be given to you. Good measure, pressed down, shaken together, running over, will be put into your lap. For with the measure you use it will be measured back to you.”

Proverbs 28:27, “Whoever gives to the poor will not want,
but he who hides his eyes will get many a curse.”

Matthew 24, “I was hungry and you gave me nothing to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me nothing to drink. I was a stranger and you did not invite me in, I needed clothes and you did not clothe me, I was sick and in prison and you did not look after me.
I tell you the truth, whatever you did not do for one of the least of these, you did not do for me.”

Deuteronomy 15:10, “Give liberally and be ungrudging when you do so, for on this account the LORD your God will bless you in all your work and in all that you undertake.”

I love the video below. Katie gets it. She gets the heart of Jesus. “As someone who calls themselves a Christian… it’s very apparent that you are to love the Lord your God will all your heart and then you are to love your neighbor as yourself. Myself does not want to be starving. So, I don’t want other people in the world to be starving. Jesus does not ask that we care for the less fortunate. HE demands it.” Katie Davis – founder of Amazima Ministries

 

Leave a Reply

