Glimpses of my Heart

Just another WordPress.com site

Self righteousness and man made religion January 31, 2011

Filed under: My Journey with Jesus — oldfashionedatheart @ 6:37 pm

Copyright © by Joanna White

Yesterday our Pastor had a sermon that really was very thought provoking for me with what I shared in my last post about pride.  The message was about man made religion and “avoiding the ditch of Moralism”.  He compared differences between mysticism, moralism, and the gospel.  

The reminders I needed were about the dangers of pride and being self righteous and realizing what areas are grey areas.  I tend to think it’s all black and white and don’t allow much room for the grey areas where the Bible is not as specific.  It was good to be reminded that we need to know our convictions, yet that each of us will have different convictions when it comes to the grey areas ~ and that it’s OKAY!  It’s important that I don’t put my convictions on others when it comes to the grey areas but let God lead.

The following is quote my mother sent me from a devotional she read that is so fitting:

“I have called each of my children to a different path, distinctly designed for that one. Do not let anyone convince you that his path is the only right way. And, be careful not to extol your path as superior to another’s way. Act justly, love mercy, and walk humbly with me, however I lead.”

Obviously, the Bible says that Jesus is the only way.  So don’t confuse what I’m saying here with relativism.  The world would love to take the quote above and twist it to mean something different than is intended. The quote above is what I need to apply in the grey areas.

 

Leave a Reply

